1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Phenom3030's R1 adventure

Discussion in 'Show and Tell' started by Phenom3030, Apr 6, 2015.

1. Phenom3030

Phenom3030 Member

Aloha all!

Just unboxed my R1 this afternoon! Set it up as per the getting started video and cranked out my first print right after!
    Just to preface, I have no prior experience with CAD, AutoCAD, 3d printing, etc. I'm just really interested in the 3d printing movement and decided to dive right in.

I also ordered a Matter Control Touch which should be arriving tomorrow.

My goal is to create things I can use for my hobbies and around the home. I also plan on using it to create personalized gifts and such.

[​IMG]

2. Phenom3030

Phenom3030 Member

For my first "test" print with my R1 I downloaded a file from Thingiverse for a camera mount for mini quadcopter QAV250 Race Quad Kamera Mount for small 600 TVL Cameras, one of my hobbies.
    Basically used the default settings and cranked this print out in about 21 minutes. Quality was set to medium.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I think I will up the fill density the next time I print this to make it more sturdier. That would be the setting I would change right? For this print it was set to .25.

3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Don't get discouraged if things go south. Sorting problems can be a bit tricky and hopefully you don't encounter many.
    Looking good so far

4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

Fill density and shell thickness are the two to tweak for strength.

5. Phenom3030

Phenom3030 Member

Thanks for the prompt reply and advice Mark! Where do I find shell thickness on the Matter Control program?

6. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

I can't help you with MatterControl.
    In Repetier/Slic3r it would be under the layer and perimeters tab for the slicer configuration.
    Top/Bottom layers and vertical layers (shells) are defined there.

7. Printed Solid