1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Poor Wifi Connectivity?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by SolS, Mar 15, 2018.

1. SolS

SolS New Member

Hello everyone. I've recently picked up the R2, and I'm still learning how to use it. While I've been able to connect my computer to it through my wifi network a couple of times, the R2 often will not connect to my network. When I check the network setting it simply does not list my network in the list of available wifi connections.

Does anyone know anything I could do about this?

2. AllenMcAfee

AllenMcAfee Guest

@SolS Is this a home network, or a work/public network you are trying to connect to? One other way you can use to locate your network on the printer is using the Network Connection tab in the Settings page of your web dashboard. You can still access it even if the printer is not connected to a Wifi network by making sure it's in Hotspot mode (Utilities/Network in LCD screen).

In the Settings screen on the dashboard, the Network Connection tab is located here:
    Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 10.38.25 AM.png

3. drbanks

drbanks Active Member

I've noticed that the WiFi reception is pretty weak. I went through a bout of just not being able to pick up my home WiFi (I live in an apartment building) because the neighbors seemed stronger and even if my AP showed up on the list, it wouldn't reliably connect. I ultimately had to hunt around for a less used segment of the channel space where it could get through (and it's just across the hall on the far side of the room).

I eventually threw in the towel and hooked up an ethernet cable. Either way, putting that PI next to all sorts of stepper motor drivers probably makes for a noise rich environment.

What I'd like to see:

1) Some way to just flat out disable the WiFi if I'm running wired, instead of contributing to the noise in my apartment building by running in hotspot mode