1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

R1+ Dual/Multi Extruder upgrade questions

Discussion in 'Mods and Upgrades' started by eternalphoenix64, Mar 9, 2017.

1. eternalphoenix64

eternalphoenix64 New Member

Sorry in advance for long post. I've been doing too much research and not finding all the answers I want.

I've had my R1+ for several months, but only just started printing with it finally a month or two ago. I've mostly just done a couple parts for work that would have taken longer to machine (we don't have a CNC mill here) and some hobby prints. I'm a mechanical engineer with a small amount of experience in electrical and microcontrollers. So far, I've been dialing in the settings on a couple prints so that I can compare a print done in PLA vs. ABS vs. SSPLA, possibly a couple other comparisons. I'm comparing differences from both print directions and material in terms of a specific repeated stress.

Anyways, I'd really like to have at least dual extrusion, at the bare minimum so I can use a different support material that's easier to break away, and have several questions, so please bear with me. I've seen several forum posts about the R1 being upgraded in a variety of ways (usually E3D Chimera, Cyclops, or dual V6, sometimes even Kraken) but there's always a caveat about things being different with the R1+, but those comments aren't always succinct about what needs to be changed/what is different (or perhaps I just keep finding the wrong forum posts over and over again).

1 - How does the original hot end compare to the E3D V6?

2 - I think I want to start out with dual extrusion, but leave myself the option for something like the Kraken later on if I end up saying to myself I absolutely MUST have quad extrusion. What's the best way to go about doing that?