1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Repetier-Host and Robo vibrating on Y axis

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by dbd, Jul 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dbd

dbd New Member

Hey all. First off, I'm completely new to 3D printing, though I'm no stranger to 3d modeling. I received my Robo recently and I'm having a bit of trouble.

Everything seems to be configured correctly, and in Repetier-Host, I can manually move the hot end around the bed by clicking on the arrows. When I click on the home button for the X or Z axes, the extruder (is that the right terminology, or should I call it hot end?) positions itself at the left side of the bed, a paper's thickness above the bed (as it should). However, clicking on the Y Home button causes the extruder to attempt to move the bed backwards past its limits - I'm guessing this is what happens, because even after it reaches 0 on the Y axis, it's still attempting to push the bed further backwards, causing the whole entire machine to vibrate and shake with a very loud sound.

I don't quite understand this. I set the correct depth (254) of the bed's Y axis for the Robo, and minimum at 0, max at 254. So if Repetier-Host tries to position it at 0, why is it trying to push the bed past 0 into the negatives? I must be doing something incorrectly.

Hopefully this post isn't too confusing, but I can post a video if anyone needs some more info. Thanks in advance! :)

2. Printed Solid

Printed Solid Volunteer Admin
    Staff Member

There is a limit switch that it hits to determine what 0 is. The screws used on the limit switches are reportedly too short on the first batch that shipped. Some people have reported having issues with the limit switches coming loose during shipping.

3. dbd

dbd New Member