1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Replicator 2 question

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Robert Choban, Feb 4, 2015.

1. Robert Choban

Robert Choban Active Member

I am working with 3 schools that have received free Replicator 2 printers, from companies in my area. I believe there are people on this forum that also have these printers. I am looking for a good forum or a places on the internet I can learn about how the Replicator 2 works and the problems that might happen using this printer. I have found that some of the places to get help have been shutdown.
    Any help would be appreciated.

2. Printed Solid

Printed Solid Volunteer Admin
    Staff Member

Hi Robert, I have some experience with that printer. Unlike the 5th gen, the rep 2 is really a fabulous machine. Probably the best place for honest advice is still scouring the archive of the makerbot owners google group (which as you mention has been shut down). Many of the active members of that group moved over to the makerbot users google group when it was closed down. One piece of advice. Spend time reading through the archives before asking questions. I haven't been participating for a while, but I can tell you that when I was, if you posted a question that was already answered weeks or months prior, you'd get a lot of rather nasty responses back. Extremely knowledgeable people, but kind of that Saturday Night Live Computer Guy type.

3. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

Ugh I hate groups like that.

I also have a rep2 and a 2x. Surprisingly nice printers but it's kinda like taking care of a child whose mother cheated on you. It's not their fault, but that resentment won't really go away since every time you look at it all you can think of is what happened.

4. Robert Choban

Thanks for the feed back I will start reading through the google groups. Anything you can tell me to watch out for when using the Replicator 2.