1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

SMITTY'S PRINTER

Discussion in 'Show and Tell' started by Smitty, Jun 25, 2014.

1. Smitty

Smitty New Member

Greetings to all! I just recently received my new R1. I am a home business owner that focuses in costume and prop design for cosplay enthusiasts. I plan to be printing fairly large projects and am looking for suggestions on how to improve my printer. I would like to focus on speed and efficiency mostly. I am very new to the 3D printed world so if anyone has upgrade ideas please share. I will be posting pics and status updates of current projects regularly as well as any bumps I may run into.

2. tesseract

tesseract Moderator
    Staff Member

Well one thing to keep in mind is 3d printing is not extremely fast it can take hours for small prints and much longer for large ones it is all based on what you are trying to print and the resolution you choose.

.2 is the probably the most common size so keep in mind that going to .1 will double the time

The time frame given in the software is generally short for the most part and they are only estimates I usualy look for about 150% of the time stated.

The material used for printing varies in so many ways it is almost impossible to explain them all
    PLA is probably the easiest for newcomers it is very strong but brittle but it does usually print well

ABS tends to be a bit more felixible but prints with large flat bases tend to get warping issues

You will go through the normal pitfalls most of us have already it just takes a bit of time and prints under your belt
    to start getting great results learning the nuances of these things will take some time.