1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

What 3d software works the best/ most accurate/ easiest?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Kirk, Mar 26, 2014.

1. Kirk

Kirk Member

I’m new to 3D designing and was looking for recommendations and why for software. I have tried google sketchup and it was pretty straight forward to figure out but it was difficult to make custom curves and or angles on curves at the same time, the measurement tool was a great item and how it snapped you to axis was also helpful. Now im trying Hexagon 2 and find it easier to do the curves I like the symmetry feature and also the wire feature but really miss the measurement option and find it difficult to keep track of the actual dimensions of the objects.

I’m hoping someone can lead me in the right direction to some free or low cost options. Measurement and accuracy is important to me as well as the freedom to manipulate objects easily and hopefully be semi straight forward to use. The objects designed will later be printed on a ROBO 3D

2. Ziggy

Ziggy Moderator
    Staff Member

If you want to create "engineering" type models, Openscad is a pretty good (and free) option. By "engineering" I mean models which can be constructed from geometric shapes.

Openscad is easy to use once you understand how the syntax works. You do need to think like a programmer to use it to its full potential though.

2 people like this.
  3. 1d1

1d1 Active Member

I've used Tinkercad for some time. It isn't engineering oriented but gives you a good, basic design system that can be quite accurate and has a measurement tool. It's free. Capable of complex curves, but takes some learning to get it to do them. Working from primitive shapes, it's totally adequate.

2 people like this.
  4. tesseract

tesseract Moderator
    Staff Member

Well there are tons of applications you can choose from the keys to look for are