1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Z axis problems.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by zolagg, Aug 3, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zolagg

zolagg New Member

Hello all. This is my first time posting on this forum and I'm hoping someone could help. I recently changed my stock hot end on my robo 3d r1 plus to an e3dv6 hot end. After I got everything put back together and tested my first print I noticed 2 problems that I've never had before. The first problem was that my z axis movement was much faster than before. When I use my LCD screen controller to move the z axis up and down it travels at about twice the speed and also when I have it set to move 1mm at a click it moves about 10 or more mm. The second problem is when I go to print something the print head prints about 5mm above the bed just pushing out filament in mid air. Thanks in advance for any help I can get.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Did you change the firmware?

As for the air printing, you need to adjust your default Z offset since the extruders are not the same size, but first check to make sure both of the Z axis home switches are in the correct position.

3. zolagg

zolagg New Member

Ok I will check the switches. The z offset does make sense because I have 2 different printer profile settings and one prints in the air and the other puts the nozzle pressed onto the bed so no filament comes out. I also did upload firmware because i was originally going to use the pt100 sensor from e3d but i was having lots of problems with the temperature so i just went with the m3 stud sensor from printed solid and it worked fine. I am very new to all this so i don't know how to change back to the original firmware. Hoping that is possible.

4. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

zolagg and Geof like this.
  5. zolagg

zolagg New Member