1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unanswered Robo seems to lose track of Y axis while printing

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Castleblox, Apr 9, 2016.

1. Castleblox

Castleblox New Member

Ive kept a running log of problems i have had with the printer as well as fixes, date oriented, but this one has me at a loss. ive printed many hours, and never experienced this issue until i updated the firmware in matter control from 1.4 to 1.5. The Y axis seems to jump/jog forward a couple steps and mess up the print. it will continue printing like nothing has happened, but on flat vertical surfaces is clearly noticeable as an edge is formed that is not in the slicer. I have never experienced an X axis jump, only Y. Any one else and possible cause fix, my guess is that a driver is under/over powered or something in the new G code. I have no experience editing G code but may need to to fix this problem. AS you can see in the pic this is suppose to be a flat wall it has jogged a step and is now out of alignment both in the front and back. 20160409_195001.jpg

2. Tom Finzel

Tom Finzel Member

You might want to check and see if the small gear attached to the shaft of the Y stepper motor that drives the belt is tight.

mark tomlinson likes this.
  3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Loose belt causing a skip or loose belt drive cog as @Tom Finzel suggested (on the Y belt).
    Easy enough to fix those. The stepper driver would likely not have those symptoms since it would drop steps more often and less suddenly.

4. Castleblox

Castleblox New Member