1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Frustration...complete noob needs help please!

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Jason Larson, Aug 31, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ryan TeGantvoort

Ryan TeGantvoort Active Member

holy shit I didn't realize so many posts before mine :eek:

2. danzca6

danzca6 Well-Known Member

By default it is 0 when you install MC. I did see the zOffset at the bottom of the gCode file created when I exported to a folder, but that is just a comment of settings and has no affect on the print. You need the M565. You can see that based on the help text in MC that if you set it here you will have an opposite result that if you just set the M565 in the start code. Not a fan of that. Since the robo uses the nozzle as the probe, it really needs to always be a negative number that is created, either by us manually setting it in gcode or by the MC code generation. Which I did test by changing from 0 to -.8 in this box and it never created the needed gcode to do the offset. Not sure why, but wouldn't trust setting it here. My vote is for the start gcode. Then you know what it is.

; zOffset = 0

mc zoffset set.gif

mark tomlinson likes this.
  3. Ryan TeGantvoort

Ryan TeGantvoort Active Member

Yea when I changed it, never seemed to do anything, granted I didn't try printing anything. MC just needs to eliminate the Z Offset and put the M565 command in the Starting Gcode, like every other slicer software. Whoops I forgot I changed the number before taking the screenshot and I missed the help info!

I remember when I first used MC, they had the stupid macro button and you could only adjust a few tenths of a mm. It was like 0.8, 0.9, and 1.0 or something. Needless to say adding the M565 command to the start gcode was one of the first things I did. Plus I currently use an offset of -0.79, which is far more accurate then just using tenths.