1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Any tips for printing architectural models?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Voyager1, Jan 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Voyager1

Voyager1 New Member

Hi guys - having a bit of trouble working out the best way to print my architectural models. I am an architect and produce all my documentation (including 3D model) using ArchiCAD. The latest version of ArchiCAD lets me save my models (houses usually) as .stl files, so I've done that with a small, double-storey house I did recently.

Problem 1. When I tried to print it of course, the floor of the second level just "fell into" the ground floor level below as I did not have support turned on. Although I killed the print, I know the same problem will arrive when printing my roofs. I want to have the interior of the model open, as you can see in through the window openings into the interior spaces. I had some commercial 3D printing done of a similar model before my Robo arrived, so I know it can be done. Does anyone have any tips to help me get this right?

Problem 2. Some of my models are too large to print to scale in one go on the print bed of the Robo. Can I use Repetier Host to split the model into 2 parts that I can glue together later? Or do I need other software to do that?

2. Racegrafix

Racegrafix Active Member

You could split them in other program, then lay on its side...then you just have one wall to deal with. Rhino 3d can split.

3. polylac

polylac New Member

If you can split them into parts, maybe you can lay them in a way that no floor or roof is on top.
    Like flipping it 90° to the right (one half of the house) with the wall in the build platform, The top side would be the cut so you have mostly just flat walls, or vertical walls (the roof would hava a angle that should be printabel).

4. alpha

alpha New Member