1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Filament keeps sticking to the nozzle

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Xander, Oct 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xander

Xander New Member

I'm quite new to 3D printing and don't know all that much about it. I recently bought the Robo R1 and had some mixed experiences with it. Some prints worked great, others just wouldn't work.

Today I was looking for a possible problem that caused my prints to fail. I noticed that when my filament extrudes from the nozzle it tends to stick to it, creating a loop. This happens every time, even if I remove all the left over material from the nozzle. I'm not sure if it supposed to do this, but I think this might be causing my problems.

A picture of the situation:

20141012_161557.jpg

I hope someone can help me with this.

2. Bim

Bim New Member

Looks like your firmament is not retracting. Check you settings in your software.

3. Xander

Xander New Member

I don't think that is the problem. In this photo I just used the extrude command in mattercontrol to easily show the problem.

4. SteveC

SteveC Well-Known Member

The loop in the photo in itself is not a problem and is very typical. If you slowly pull it off while extruding does it keep curling back into the nozzle? If so the nozzle could be a bit too hot. What are the problems you are seeing with the prints?

5. Xander

Xander New Member