1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

filament not feeding correctly, feeder alignment problem

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Steve pointon, Oct 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve pointon

Steve pointon New Member

Firstly, Mike may i thank you for being so helpful when my wife picked my printer up on Friday. Now to my problem, the filament isn't being fed at the correct rate into the extruder head. Now as an Engineer myself (10 years aerospace design, 3 years for a major tool manufacturer and 10 years+ for a gas turbine manufacturer) I set about trying to establish why this is and I believe I have found it to be one of two possible causes or even the first only made worst by the second.

1) The shaft that has the knurled portion that grips the filament floats around horizontally meaning the knurled section hardly makes contact with the filament at times causing loss of feed and a scrapped print. The shaft looks as if it floats about 1.5mm (1/16 if an inch for those still using imperial units). This could be fixed by adding a washer to the left hand side of the assembly between the left hand bearing and the nut holding the drive gear in place (this would also protect the side of the left bearing) to reduce the amount of overall float ( this would be like the washer between the right hand bearing and the hex head of the drive bolt). All left/right descriptors are as if one was looking at the rear of the machine.
    correct alignment.jpg wrong alignment.jpg .
    The first shot shows the correct position for the drive bolt and the second the wrong position. The filament, when the guide/pressure bearing is closed, is actually about 1mm to the left of the shown position so is missing the knurled portion entirely.