1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

First Print Woes

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Ian macarthur, Jun 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ian macarthur

Ian macarthur New Member

I'm totally new to the world of 3D printing. Reading this forum has given me a realistic appreciation of the steep learning curve ahead and great respect for the body of experience that the contributors bring to this technology.
    I received my new Robo 3D printer last work and didn't waste any time 'discovering' it. I set it up, loaded the software and 'connected'. It took me awhile to figure out the auto leveling but that now appears to be working well. When I attempted my first print, there were no issues with sticking to the bed. The first few layers looked good …. and I was beginning to think that somehow I'd managed to sidestep all the problems that I'd been reading about ...Then it all went to hell.
    My first PLA print attempt, a small, simple calibration box, turned out what appears to be a mini Brillo pad … After experimenting with minor temperature and speed changes, successive print results just got worse and worse. I've used Repetier and Matter Control and have tried various slice engines with similar results.
    Can anybody help diagnose my problems and suggest some tweaks that might improve my newbie efforts to get a solid 3D print? I'd appreciate any suggestions. (see picture) First prints.jpg

imac63

2. Bob64

Bob64 Member

What temp are you printing at?

3. Ian macarthur

Ian macarthur New Member

I kept the temp around 190. No heat on the bed.

4. Montravont

Montravont Active Member

Can you upload a picture of the bottom of one of the prints?

5. Galaxius

Galaxius Well-Known Member