1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Northern Va, checking in

Discussion in 'United States of America' started by the_antics, Feb 15, 2015.

1. the_antics

the_antics New Member

Hello everyone, new to the forums and the R3D but I'm excited to join this community.

I am still fairly new to 3D printer ownership, but this is not my first printer. I've been fascinated with the technology for a long time now, and about a year ago I decided to build my own 3D printer. Unfortunately, thanks to a less than reputable kit seller, it was a long and frustrating journey. My Prusa I3 kit came with some unusable, misshapen parts, missing parts, and what I would eventually learn was a faulty Sanguinololu board and no firmware or bootloader on the micro controller. I put the project down and picked it back up many times. It seemed like every step forward was met a step back, but eventually I had a working 3D printer. Just as I started learning to print useable parts, my Sanguinololu crapped out completely. No longer connecting to my PC, and eventually just stopped powering on altogether.
    It was at that moment that I decided to put the project down again and just order an R3D. I've been following since the kickstarter days so it was a no brainer when looking to buy an assembled and working unit.

I have not given up on my Prusa though. I will soon be buying a new print controller and getting it back up and running. Besides the fact that by now I can disassemble and reassemble the thing with my eyes closed, having 2 working 3D printers will be largely beneficial to me.