1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Noob Needs Help! Prints failing halfway through.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Nick Wright, Apr 26, 2015.

1. Nick Wright

Nick Wright New Member

Hi all, I'm new to the printing scene and just got my printer last week. I printed a few small parts that came in the library, (calibration block, calibration ring, whistle..) all turned out great! So I moved on to one of the longer parts and set the included vase file to print before I left for work. When I came home it had only made it a quarter of the way up the part before it failed and just started printing blobs. Pics below. I proceeded to clean off the bed and send the printer home, when the x axis reached its end it kept going and gave off a grinding noise and the drive belt jumped around a lot. That's when I noticed the z axis nut on the left side was out of its slot. I put it back in the slot and tried again, no problems. So I tried to print another part, and when it went to home itself on the glass it couldn't find it, only traveling up and down a little bit in the air, then moving to do its pre-printing calibration in the air, and print in the air. I did a little more investigating and noticed that the whole thing looked slanted, and indeed on of the thread rods was higher than the other. I've since got the thread rods back at the correct corresponding heights and tried printing the small calibration block again and this time it was indeed able to find the bed during its initial calibration and print the part, however it seemed a little more sloppy than the first one I printed with holes in the top, pictured below. I went on to print another set of parts, which seemed to do fine until about halfway up the part where it failed once again, and just started printing a stringy glob. Not sure what to do now, any help is appreciated, thanks!

20150426_123028 (667x800).jpg