1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Setting Z-axis offset

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by SoCalPrinter, Jan 29, 2016.

1. SoCalPrinter

SoCalPrinter New Member

I've been reading through previous threads to try to solve this, but i must not be doing something right. After my Printer does the 9-point auto leveling, it just starts the print directly on the glass, too close to allow for extrusion. Apparently I need to add some manual offset value in a code somewhere? What's the purpose of touching the print head on the bed in 9 places if not to determine where the head is in relation to the bed?

I have no previous experience in g-code as the only other printer I've had (da Vinci 1.0) didn't require me to. I just leveled the bed with a piece of paper, imported the model and pressed print. So I've been reading what you guys tell other people about "running the script" or "adding to the gcode" and it's like Greek to me. I've tried changing the z-axis offset in the EEPROM settings. Still nozzle to glass. Tried inputting the codes you guys suggested to others into the Gcode terminal and pressing enter. Still nozzle to glass. Tried clicking on the preset macros, they don't even allow me to select them.

This is very frustrating and seems like something that should be automated in a so-called "plug and play system with self leveling bed". Can somebody explain it like I'm 5, or link me to a step by step guide? Thanks.

Neil Yates likes this.
  2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Somewhere in whatever software you are using to slice/print with there is a section for configuration that determines what (if any) extra statements will be added to the beginning of each and every GCode file generated.
    In there you want to add something to establish a Z offset, Something like this:

G28 ; home all axes
    G1 Z5 F5000 ; lift Z by 5mm