1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

How is this done

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by tesseract, Feb 20, 2013.

1. tesseract

tesseract Moderator
    Staff Member

I have seen files that are complete assemblies...do they work right out of the machine.
    I can't think they would

Another example confuses me

a section of linked chain how is the image made so that it does not actually permanently connect the links of the chain together where they touch.

for example how would a small version of say a shaded floor lamp be drawn I can see the main body of the lamp just a straight column but when it comes to the shade which extends out from the column both x and y how is the bottom line laid down and then built upon to create the shade itself. It can't just float there.

Sorry if these are basic questions but I am very new to this.

2. Ahmed Jaber

Ahmed Jaber New Member

I don't have any experience with 3D printers, so I may be mistaken, but its possible that melted plastic doesn't stick well to hardened plastic. If that we're the case, then you could build interconnected pieces as long as the first link has been given enough time to cool, which doesn't take long from the videos I've seen.

3. tesseract

tesseract Moderator
    Staff Member

Cool, pun intended, I hadn't thought about that aspect.
    Thanks

Still wondering about the floor lamp model Best way would be to print it up side down that way everything has a base but if I was forced to print it right side up how can that be done?

4. Ahmed Jaber

Ahmed Jaber New Member

Best way to do that would be to print it updise-down. The only way I can imagine it possibly working right-side-up would be if you had a bunch of removable support columns built from the print bed to the bottom of the shade, spaced out by an inch or two. Again, though, it's a lot more practical to just build it upside-down.

5. Ahmed Jaber

Ahmed Jaber New Member