1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unresolved Homing/G28 issues

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by seelenamt, Jul 9, 2016.

1. seelenamt

seelenamt New Member

Hi all, I'm pretty new to the 3D printing stuff, and I've been trying to configure my Robo 3D R1 to get better quality/less failed prints- however I've run into a strange issue.

When asking the printer to Home All, either in matter control, cura, or just entering the G28 command in the Gcode terminal, the printer moves to the home position and then quickly jumps to the center of the board for seemingly no reason and auto-levels. I've looked at the wires to the various limit switches and stepper motors and I can't find anything physically wrong (aside from a bent Z-axis rod, I received the replacement yesterday, have yet to install)

This had been more of a pressing issue, as the printer would try to start printing way above the bed, however that seems to be an unrelated issue, as it now prints properly.

So far, I've tried
    • Checking the wires to the limit switches and stepper motors
    • Reseating the connectors for the limit switches and stepper motors
    • Flashing fresh drivers to the unit
    • Using Cura
    • Using a different computer
    Nothing seems to have solved it, however, now I can print again, it's not such a pressing issue.

(I have video- I would post a link, however this is my first post.)

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

G28 is the GCode for home axis (one or all)
    G29 is the autoleveling command (which starts in the center of the bed).

Refer here: http://reprap.org/wiki/G-code

So if a G28 alone is causing the autoleveling to occur then something is significantly wrong with your 'brains' on the unit (the Arduino).

Sounds more like a G28 + a G29 is getting executed.
    Try a different program to issue the commands --> rule out software.

3. seelenamt