1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Frustration...complete noob needs help please!

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Jason Larson, Aug 31, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jason Larson

Jason Larson New Member

I bought a Robo r1 in February of '15. When I first got it I unboxed it, set it up, and did a few initial prints. The prints were ok, but lacking in what I would call 'density'. They were brittle and there was quite a bit of honey combing on the bottom and I was a bit disappointed. I tried reading up on the problem, made adjustments, and nothing seemed to help. Life got really busy after that I didn't have the time to mess with the printer much after that until recently.

I finally set up the printer again in my classroom in hopes to get it running again (also thinking I could get a tech savvy student to help me out). I set it up, installed the latest MatterControl software, up graded firmware, and wanted to do a calibration print. It didn't work. I assumed that I had a jam in the nozzle (which I did) so I cleaned it out. After that I extruded some of the filament (abs) and it came out fine. I restarted the print and again, nothing comes out. I pause, lift the z axis, press the extrude button, and filament again comes out. Restart the print and nothing.

I pulled the filament out and it looks like it is being chewed up by the hobb bolt during printing and is not being extruded, but when I lift adjust the z-axis off of the bed the filament flows out. I've tried adjusting the bolts and springs that hold the filament in, but short that didn't do much.