1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Y-Axis slipping

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by PropLord, Jun 21, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PropLord

PropLord Member

I'm new to the 3d printing world and I got my Robo 3d Refurbished model a couple of weeks ago.

I'd like to say it's been great, but I had a lot of issues right off the bat. Most of it was Z-axis issues, but that is fixed now. My Y-belt was broken but they sent me a new one immediately.

I've had a couple successful prints so I started doing larger models. Come to find out, the printer keeps moving my print either forwards or backwards a layer or two.

Frankly, it's driving me nuts. The material costs doesn't concern me, it's after my job has been going for 8 hours and it randomly decides to push a layer wherever it please. :mad:

I've read at least 10 threads around the web, and I don't know what to do. I've tightened my screws that hold the Y-belt in place, made sure nothing was around the print bed, and I still have issues, seemingly around the same area.

What can I do? Do I need to tighten the Y-Belt by a tooth or two?

X-axis runs just fine. So long as it has oil in the rails.

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

This pictures do not seem to show a slip on X or Y. Looks more like layers separating/splitting.
    Maybe a picture from a different angle?

If it is slip on the Y it is not always the belt. It can easily be a loose drive gear on the Y motor. Make sure the set screw is tight.

Geof likes this.
  3. PropLord

PropLord Member

I'll check the screws. I also tightened the belt by 1 tooth.

It's definitely moving forwards and backwards. It doesn't have too hard of a time with layers sticking to each other so long as there is something to print on, it doesn't get caught on a snag, and it is hot enough. I run my printer around 212-213 C.