1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Extruder Fan replacement specs.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by David Sale, Nov 23, 2016.

1. David Sale

David Sale New Member

A little background, in case any one was wondering. I work at a technology department. We sell the RoBo 3D printer. The demo unit has a few issues. I was asked to repair the printer because I am a bench tech that repairs computers that we sell.

After resolving the USB port issue, I have found that the fan for the Hot-end heatsink has failed. At least based on my research so far I believe that is the correct reference for this fan. I did not have a good pic of the fan's location but I found a pic on the forums. Please excuse any breach of edict. See the pic I will upload below.

I am not sure of the warranty since this is an unsold Demo unit. I can not find a serial number at all on the box or any paperwork. I am expecting the warranty is no longer covered due to the age of the unit. On the box the Model is listed as "ROBO ABS 001" I will also post a pic of the label.

At some point the fan seems to have partly melted the wires right where they attach to the motor. I believe the fan is a 12v but I do not know the amps. If any one know please let me know. Due to the Thanksgiving Holiday I have not been able to call the tech support line, 844-476-2633.

Fan Closeup.jpg RoBo Label.jpg Fan On Heatsink.jpg

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

It is an older R1 unit.
    I am not certain of the amp draw either, but it is not much -- 100ma max. I would imagine.
    Any 12vdc fan of the correct size will work.

3. David Sale

David Sale New Member

Understood, thank you very much for your help! :)

4. Karl Bareham

Karl Bareham New Member

I was just about to make a post about this!!