1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved New Robo3D R1+ - clicking/grinding from extruder

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Andy Rosen, Jan 7, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Andy Rosen

Andy Rosen New Member

All -

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you may have. I'm very new to 3D printing (roughly 18 hours now) and have searched the forum but I'm not exactly sure of the terminology to explain what I'm seeing.

I printed the water can from the Robo3D gardening pack and it went all sorts of weird. The first inch or so we're good then it seems all three axis went goofy (tilted left and forward and could see between the layers).

I cleaned up after the mess and went to print a smaller object but I've been met with what I would describe as a clicking or grinding sound from the extruded motor. Lightly helping the gear turn stops it but... something isn't right. If I tell MatterControl to extrude, it does no problem.. but while printing, it seems to be an issue.

I'm using Robo3D branded PLA at 210. I've adjusted the filament tension bolts (half turn each way) with no improvement.

Suggestions?

Thanks again!

2. Rigmarol

Rigmarol Well-Known Member

Welcome!
    You may need to in erase the distance between the print bed and your nozzle. This is called the z setting. If it is too close the extruder can't get enough filament to go through the nozzle and ends up grinding away at the filament instead of pushing it through.

There may be other issues but I would suggest starting there.

3. Andy Rosen

Andy Rosen New Member