1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Another newbie+first impressions/feedback thread

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by insomniac_lemon, Aug 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. insomniac_lemon

Hi, I'm new to 3D printing, and just received my R1 on Monday. So far I've only been able to print 1 thing off successfully (a guitar pick, and even then there was an issue with my model) and overall I'd say I'm having a frustrating experience. I'm hoping that I can get some help, as well as give some feedback that (hopefully) will allow Robo3D to improve the design of the R1 and make it a better experience.

As for hardware: I was surprised that it arrived with no damage, from California all the way to Michigan. The only real shipping issue I think I had was that it appears that my black PLA is not properly sealed (it looks like the end was not properly melted/pressed).

Overall, it seems well built, but my true "quality" issue is that of design. Particularly, some things seem like they weren't thought through, refined, or tested (some of these issues were in Barnacules Nerdgasm's review, but don't seem to have been addressed, save for the hotend) . The wiring is quite atrocious, the auto-level sensors hop out of place during auto-leveling (these should probably be connected to the smooth rods) , the ports are too indented (particularly the USB) and awkward (sideways power port, upside-down microSD slot!??), the inside is not sealed off (I dropped the microSD card and a piece of filament into the gaps near the microSD slot and the hole that the print head wires go into and had to unscrew the base to get them out), and the screws near the power port don't have threaded holes (instead just a nut on the other side) meaning if you unscrew it you need to take the bottom off to tighten it.