1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Are these prints good or bad?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Phat Vi, Apr 16, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phat Vi

Phat Vi New Member

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in 3D printing. I just received my Robo3D 2 weeks ago. Still playing with it to get the setting right.

I printed a couple of parts last night. I would like to get some feedback from the experts in this forum.

One of my observation is that the bottom layer are flatten out which increases the dimensions of this layer comparing to the desired dimensions.

All feedback are appreciated. If thing does look right, please let me know what could be the root cause so I can search for a solution.

Thanks,
    P.

15mmcube_1.JPG 15mmcube_2.JPG lego1.JPG lego2.JPG

2. SteveC

SteveC Well-Known Member

Hi P,
    That is a good first layer. It is necessary to have it squished onto the bed to ensure proper adhesion otherwise many prints will pop off. Remember that you probably set the initial Z height with a piece of paper thickness? This is basically going to be the thickness of that first layer. In the slicer settings you chose a first layer thickness equal or greater than the subsequent layers. This thickness setting is greater than the paper thickness of the nozzle so the extra plastic oozes out the side and makes the extra wide ridge on the first layer. It is standard procedure to either ignore this ridge or to trim it off with an exacto knife.

On the Lego piece it looks like you have very good bridging underneath.