1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Christmas Day Disaster - any ideas???? extruder way too high, bed not heating

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by wakemasher, Dec 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wakemasher

wakemasher New Member

I admit that I am a total beginner to 3d printing, but this has been a joke. I have attempted to follow all of the instructions I can find. Upon the first attempt at a print the extruder rose to 5 inches off of the bed and began extruding PLA. Each subsequent attempt it would move a little higher. I have tried updating firmware, restarting, going through the leveling process with not one consistent set of results. I have been reading the forum nearly all day trying anything I can find that sounds close. Now the bed is no longer heating. I realize this gives almost nothing specific to go on, but the machine has been operating so far from anywhere close to expected that I am not sure what information to provide.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

At a minimum we sort of need to know:

-What software you are using
    -What setup you have done for the printer in that software
    -What you have done to the printer

3. wakemasher

wakemasher New Member

Software - MatterControl 1.2
    Firmware - RoBo3DR1AUTOV5 - currently. I have tried V2 also.

Setup - Followed each step of the unboxing video provided.

What have I done to the printer? No physical changes. I have tried different versions of the firmware and software. I have tried adjusting movement controls in MatterControl to adjust the extruder closer to the plate. I have tried configuring the leveling manually multiple times and tried auto leveling.

At this point I can't get past the plate not heating up.

2 people like this.
  4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

What does the print head do when you home it? Does it go to 5 inches off the bed?