1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Convince me to buy one?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by teddddd, Jan 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. teddddd

teddddd New Member

Hey guys, I'm a college student and digital artist, used an Ultimaker in a class once and my school is stupid so basically everyone at the school shares one printer. I'm looking to get my own so I can get things done.

I just have a few questions about the Robo3D:
    1. I plan to get the ABS+PLA model. Are there other materials it can print out-of-the-box? I'm interested in T-glase and Laywood/brick and other exotics.
    2. I see a lot of people swapping the stock extruder for an E3D one -- why? And is it difficult? Does it void a warranty or something?
    3. Has anyone built an enclosure for it? I know we all like to be tough and say the fumes don't matter, but ABS does release a little chlorine gas, when laser-cut at least. :)
    4. Have the support issues been worked out? I was reading some old threads around when they were delivering Kickstarter orders and people were complaining about customer service -- I totally understand how it's hard to organize everything during a Kickstarter and I don't blame them, just wondering if they've gotten better since then.
    5. The site says there's an 8-12 week lead time, does this still hold? I'm looking to this one because the other printers I was watching (Phoenix and Rigidbot) aren't as far along from their Kickstarter and basically changed their ship date from January to April-May. To be honest if the Robo3D were to arrive around then, I'd rather spend $200 less on one of the other two and put the $200 towards upgrades/filament.
    This looks like a great company, and reading through all you guys' threads is awesome -- you're a very helpful and inspiring community!
    Thanks for the time.

2. teddddd

teddddd New Member