1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Could you help a noob to upgrade the pip?

Discussion in 'Mods and Upgrades' started by tiagomaricate, Aug 5, 2020.

1. tiagomaricate

tiagomaricate Member

Well... almost a complete noob.
    Despite I had worked with front end and some servers, I never go to deep.
    Also, I have no idea if the printer works "exactly" like a comom server, so is better to ask for help before mess everything.

Basically, after installing any plugin on Octopint, I'm receiving this message:

You are using pip version 9.0.1, however, version 20.2 is available.
    You should consider upgrading via the 'pip install --upgrade pip' command.

From start: I have no idea how to proceed :(

Could someone help me, please?

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Here is the rub, with the stock version of Raspbian and OctoPrint that is running on the Pi ... there is really precious little you can actually update/upgrade. If you do try any upgrades you will break the LCD screen menus since they are using software that is no longer supported and updating it will break it. This is because the LCD menu system is itself a plugin to OctoPrint (as are a lot of other "bits" and most are written in Python which is what PIP is all about).

If Robo had kept maintaining/supporting the printers then a new version of "RoboOS" would have been released to cure that. Didn't happen :)

There is a community OS version that some folks put together and it is updateable (and on a later version of everything). I am not sure what state it is in or what is included, but you can use a new SD card to load it and swap it in to see if that works for you.,

@tkoco might know what the status of it is or @WheresWaldo

I use OctoPrint generically and remotely on all of my printers and the LCD is not really important to me...

3. tiagomaricate

tiagomaricate Member