1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved MakerGeeks PLA clogging

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by 90AWDeclipse, Mar 23, 2015.

1. 90AWDeclipse

90AWDeclipse New Member

Hello, this is my first post and I'm new to 3d printing. I purchased my Robo 3d around the second week of February this year, and it's worked flawlessly till now. I recently purchased some filament from makergeeks.com. Soulful blue, white hot, dark as night black, safety orange, and royal purple. All PLA filaments. I have been trying to print the white hot and souful blue colors for the past couple days, and I cannot get any good prints. The printer keeps having a very inconsistent clog. I hear it skipping and see the filament just barely coming out of the nozzle. If I pull the filament out and cut off the mangled piece it will run for a bit then clog again.

Things I have tried to resolve the issue.

Temps ranging from 190-220 (honestly makes no difference other than under 200 its really hard to extrude by hand)
    I took apart the extruder cleaned everything, torched the nozzle, and made sure there were no debris.
    Extruder fan is working.
    Slowed down the speed from 60mm/s to 50mm/s on all print movements

The thing that really blows my mind is that I'm currently printing with the robo red PLA, and at 210 its printing perfect. No clogging at all, and it's feels like it extrudes so much easier by hand. If anyone has used this filament or can give me some suggestions on what to try next I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks

-Alex

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

3. 90AWDeclipse

90AWDeclipse New Member

Alright I'll be printing that right after this print, and I'll give it a try. I didn't see anyone talk about coconut oil. Can I use it?

4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

Any high smoke point vegetable oil is fine.

5. 90AWDeclipse

90AWDeclipse New Member