1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Robo R1 coming to snowy Syracuse NY!

Discussion in 'United States of America' started by davmad, Jan 8, 2015.

1. davmad

davmad Member

Hey everyone! I've been researching 3d printers for a few months now and have decided to buy the robo! I live in Syracuse, NY home of the snow! We get about 115" of snow total each season. Anyways, I've become very interested and kind of obsessed with 3d printing. I love the idea of taking an object online and creating it in your home. I'm excited to be apart of the robo community and hopefully when I get some more knowledge and some good prints under my belt I can help others! My printer is supposed to arrive Monday afternoon so I'll post how unboxing goes and my initial thoughts on the printer!

2. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

Glad to have you on board :) I hope everything works well for you and you stick around to show off your works

3. Printed Solid

Printed Solid Volunteer Admin
    Staff Member

Welcome. I grew up in binghamton, have family in syracuse, and usually make it up there about once a year (never in the winter).
    For local resources: Not sure what there is in Syracuse, but there is a makerspace in Ithaca (Ithaca Generators?), one trying to startup in Cortland, and one in Binghamton (Triple Cities Makerspace). I believe the Binghamton group has a mini makerfaire planned for May.

4. davmad

davmad Member

Oh nice! I have family in
    Binghamton/Owego as well. They have a makerspace in Syracuse its called salt makerspace I'm not sure if that's what you are referring to. I didn't know they had a makerfair I definitely want to check that out.

5. Bill Monroe

Bill Monroe Member