1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Robo up and running - prints fall apart - need some help

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by MikeZ_TWC, Dec 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MikeZ_TWC

MikeZ_TWC New Member

hey everyone,

im an enthusiastic new 3D printer owner. so far so good, setup was a breeze and got it printing easily.

I am starting by printing this calibration cube:
    http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:24238

The first couple layers look fine, but them it looks like the PLA is not adhering to the level below it. When the print is done, i can pull it apart to basically extruded filament.

Settings:
    -PLA that came with the printer
    -settings as described in the manual (190/0)
    -room ambient temp 65F

Let me know some things i can try to dial it in (or point me to another thread). Im a FDM 3d printing noob, so dont make any assumptions :)

Mike

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Can't really see from that pic if the layers are flat. Make sure they are being put down correctly or they will not stay.
    Extruded filament should be rounded, the layers should be flat.

3. MikeZ_TWC

MikeZ_TWC New Member

hey mark, thanks for the reply.

sorry the pic isn't good. the extruded filament is indeed going down onto each layer round and not flattening. first layer is OK, subsequent layers are not. it's almost as if the z axis increments too much on each pass, resulting in too much area between layers and not forcing the extruded plastic down flat.

any settings to check for this?

4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

What are the layer heights set to (layer height and first layer height)?