1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Shifting Layers.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by cosber, Nov 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cosber

cosber Active Member

Please excuse the cross-thread. I had only one reply and thought this forum might be better suited.
    I graduated to a long print time object-a cubicle coat hanger from Thingiverse. It has 85 layers and supposed to take about 2 1/2 hours. The first two attempts failed because the filament didn't feed correctly and the printer just stopped in it's tracks. I rigged up a temporary spool holder that fed the filament down from the top and it seemed to be work well. The first time, about 40 layers in, the layers shifted over about a 1/4 inch, then gradually continued to shift over more. I stopped it and tried again. This time it got about 3/4 of the way through and then started shifting again. Since it didn't happen in the same place, it wasn't the file. Any suggestions as to what is happening? My initial thought was the filament feed was tight and didn't allow the print head to move all the way over to the correct position. Is that possible? If so, I can't think of any way to make the filament feed any better. The one reply I got on the other forum thought it might be a loose belt.​

2. tesseract

tesseract Moderator
    Staff Member

it is more likely the you have a belt that has loosened but with out an image to look at it is hard to guess which belt
    as a guideline try and upload images to explain what is going on sometime the people trying to help can see something you did not know about.