1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Shifting print layers

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by cosber, Nov 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cosber

cosber Active Member

I graduated to a long print time object-a cubicle coat hanger from Thingiverse. It has 85 layers and supposed to take about 2 1/2 hours. The first two attempts failed because the filament didn't feed correctly and the printer just stopped in it's tracks. I rigged up a temporary spool holder that fed the filament down from the top and it seemed to be work well. The first time, about 40 layers in, the layers shifted over about a 1/4 inch, then gradually continued to shift over more. I stopped it and tried again. This time it got about 3/4 of the way through and then started shifting again. Since it didn't happen in the same place, it wasn't the file. Any suggestions as to what is happening? My initial thought was the filament feed was tight and didn't allow the print head to move all the way over to the correct position. Is that possible? If so, I can't think of any way to make the filament feed any better.

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

That sounds more like a loose belt.

3. -PC

-PC Member

I had the same issue once and I fixed securing the glass better.
    2013-11-15 11.37.48.jpg

4. cosber

cosber Active Member

I have the updated ABS with just the one plate. I printed another cubicle coat hanger last night, a different one but this one "only" took about 1 1/2 hours. It printed perfectly.

5. Thamer Albahiti

Thamer Albahiti Active Member

it happened with me once,
    I changed my Z alignment as the Filament was barely touching the layer before and the higher it got it comes to a point where it misses the previous layer and just keeps flowing around the hot end

6. alex

alex New Member