1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Stuck Between Robo 3d and Solidoodle 3

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by agump, Oct 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agump

agump Member

So im new to this forum and im looking to buy my first 3d printer. Im a sophomore studying engineering so tinkering around is something i love to do. i cant decide between the robo3d and the solidoodle 3. I really like the large build area of the Robo but the only thing that holds me back is the long lead time on getting my printer and 1.2 coming out soon. I would like to have the printer by christmas break so I have something to do. How tough is it to change to the E3d hot end? thats another thing thats holding me back. Help me decide please guys.

Thank you,
    Andrew

2. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

Hey Andrew, I've heard good things about the Solidoodle 3. It seems like it does really good prints and could make for an excellent printer

I decided to get the robo3d because it had the large build volume, was pretty affordable, open source, abs and pla, modability, and I just kinda like the design. The solidoodle seems sturdy enough but just kinda lacks character in my opinion. It has a few positives for their design, such as making an enclosure, though I'm personally not a fan of cantilevered gantry style printers. I feel like that would be problematic and result in an uneven build platform more often.

I don't think you can go wrong either way.

3. tesseract

tesseract Moderator
    Staff Member