1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Z-Axis Endstops Usually Fail, Not Always

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Meta, Sep 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Meta

Meta New Member

I just got the newer R1 printer and I'm working on troubleshooting and learning to use it. I have no prior 3D printing experience, so I'd like to solve one thing at a time for now.

Quick Explanation:
    The Z-axis endstops don't work properly when using MatterControl. The endstops usually fail to stop the Z-axis on manual control and during print-leveling, but they always work properly on "home all." I'm using the 6-10 firmware and the issues have been inconsistent.

Long Explanation:
    I've had issues with the Z-axis endstops while using MatterControl. The axis descends even after the switches have disengaged. In most cases, the switches don't seem to have any effect, but sometimes they stop the z-axis on manual controls then fail during the print leveling.

Originally, it worked fine on my desktop and I made a successful print. Next I tried to get the printer working with my laptop, but I ran into this z-axis issue. I tried updating the firmware to the 6-10 version and I checked the wiring, but the problem persisted. After switching computers and checking/calibrating several times, the endstops are now having issues on both computers.