1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Z axis slips down by a layer or two, digs into print

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Enrique, Jan 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Enrique

Enrique New Member

Filament type: PLA
    Extruding Temp: 200 first layer, 190 after that
    Bed Temp: 30
    Bed makeup: sprayed with AquaNet

Hey folks, first time poster. I'm a teacher and we got the printer with a grant. We've had it for about 2 weeks now and we have been successful in making numerous attempts but no success in printing a full object yet. We thought we had all the parameters figured out as far as speed, temperature, etc but now it seems we have something new and can't seem to figure out what parameter addresses it -

So about 20 layers into the print (maybe 1/4 inch or so), the extruder head dips down into the top couple of layers and begins to make grooves into the print. It of course rips it off the bed at that time. It did that twice at the same height. I checked the grooves on the tall bolts that drive the z axis. There was a bit of fuzz on a groove and I cleared it off and thought that was it. The next print it did the same thing but now 15 layers into the print. Everything else seems fine - no curling, no strings, no clogs. I don't think it's the G-code. I'm pretty sure it's a mechanical thing. What should I be checking??

Thanks in advance!

2. Melody Bliss

Melody Bliss New Member

Hi Enrique. :) Couple of questions.

1) Are the nuts on the threaded rod fully inside of their pockets in the X Carriage? You should NOT be able to see the nuts when you look underneath the X carriage.

2) Have you flashed the Robo to the latest firmware?

You can read the Robo 3D User's FAQ here http://melodybliss.org/robo3d/

3. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

Sounds like they need to lube their rods with grease or synthetic lube

4. Enrique

Enrique New Member