1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Barnes and Noble Maker Faire Volunteers Needed

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by danzca6, Sep 16, 2016.

1. danzca6

danzca6 Well-Known Member

I know not all of you have Maker Faire events near you, but you may have a B&N near by. This November will be their 2nd annual Maker Faire event in stores. I urge you to contact your local stores and see if there is anything you can volunteer for. I didn't make it to the last one but wanted to. I heard it was a bit unorganized because they just had employees trying to run the different displays and those employees weren't always well versed in what they were presenting. I spoke with the local store manager and they expressed a strong need for experienced makers to volunteer time for the event. I'm by no means an expert, but I volunteered for the next one if they were going to do it again and they are. Not sure what to expect, but I am looking forward to being a part of it. As you all may have found out about me, I could talk about 3D printing all day long. It's fantastic seeing wide eyed kids (young and old) getting excited about making things. I've actually started working with our local library and school district with doing demonstrations and helping out with class projects. Our community here has the potential to reach so many more people than just those online.

I know some may think that well I don't like the printers they sell or I am not going to work for free just to make B&N look good. Please try to look past that. I'm not going to be there for B&N or to sell their printers. I am going to be there for my local community, to get people excited about making with 3d printers, and to talk to other makers and hobbyist. Just have fun!

Cheers!

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/h/makerfaire

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member