1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unresolved Black Spots in the prints like burned plastic

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by fahad rizvi, Feb 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fahad rizvi

fahad rizvi New Member

Hi,
    I am new to 3d printing and this is my first 3d printer. When ever I print something I see some black spots in the prints. It seems that the plastic is burned. They are completely random. It is not a deal breaker as mostly I will be printing robot parts for hobby but still want to know if it is broken or is it normal and if there is a solution.
    Thanks guys

blackspots.jpg

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Check up under/around the black plastic 'boot' on your hotend and make sure it is not leaking.

3. fahad rizvi

fahad rizvi New Member

Every time before the printing actually starts and when the extruder is getting to its required temperature (210C, for PLA), the extruder starts to leak some melted plastic. this happens at around 180C. I keep on removing it with tweezers and after a couple of times it stops.

4. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

Does it leak filament out the top of the heater block?

5. k1e1v1i1n

k1e1v1i1n Active Member

leaking a small amount out of the tip during heat up is fine. check for other leaks.

6. Ben R

Ben R Active Member

So yea..I am having that trouble lately.. and I didn't used to. It's an ooze control problem. I get a little blob in crossing perimeters.. part of it rubs off on the perimeter and part sticks to the head.. then it cooks on the head. Eventually gets to a point where it builds up enough to drag off onto the model.
    I never used to have this problem. Need to figure out why its happening. Good layers.. but.. blah.

Or it can be a leak from betwixt the heater and the hex.

7. fahad rizvi

fahad rizvi New Member