1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unresolved Cura first try won't connect to printer

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Rigmarol, Aug 18, 2016.

1. Rigmarol

Rigmarol Well-Known Member

Robo 3d R1 Plus unmodified, completely stock.
    After initial setup and learning curve I've been printing like a monster for about 5 months or so.

I've been using MatterControl with good results but I keep hearing good things about Cura and Simplify3D so I decided I would try Cura to see what all the talk is about.

I have a solid Toshiba Laptop that I use for Linux Mint and I can't get it to find my Printer. This version of Cura actually has a profile for the Robo so I thought this would be a no brainer but alas, no joy.

I have tried all the USB ports on the laptop, made absolutely sure nothing else was running (although I suspect that's more of an issue if using Windows), Reinstalled the Cura program and made sure I was updated.

The popup error I get is:
    Error: No more baudrates to test, and no s...

Under Machine settings/Communications settings I show:
    Serial port = Auto
    Baudrate = Auto

I am only a casual Linux user so be clear if giving Linux instructions please.

Thanks

2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

I dont use linnux so i cant help there but i believe the Baudrate i used was 250, not the 119 stock. I may have that backwards but its an option in cura, i cant exactly remember where

3. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

4. Rigmarol

Nope, but thanks.
    I've read that thread already and other than suggesting to take it off auto and put it at 25000 baud I didn't get any more out of it.

I'm thinking I have a linux issue not a cura issue.