1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Extruder Fan

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by jogul, Oct 7, 2016.

1. jogul

jogul Member

I think my extruder fan is inoperable. Is it supposed to be on all the time? Mine doesnt seem to be running at all and as a result my extruder is clogging. How can I test it? What is the replacement if I need a new one? I can't see where there is a quick disconnect for it - is there one burried up in the cable bundle or would I have to cut the wired and solder a new fan in. Sorry for all the questions but I am new to this.

2. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

Hi there welcome. Flick the fan with the power on , does it turn on? The proper way to check it is disconnect that connector and check for 12v. Be careful not to short ot or you will damage the printer. You can get waterproof jst connectors and put them on the new fan to utilize the stock wiring.

mark tomlinson likes this.
  3. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

and make sure we are all talking about the same fan ... the one attached to the side of the extruder, not the one that blows on the printed parts (because the parts fan is NOT always on).

4. jogul

jogul Member

Fan does no turn on. The wire leads from the fan go on up into the plastic cable shield. I don't see any connector. So I guess I will have to cut the wires.
    Correct. Its the one that screws onto the shoud that fastens around the heat sink on the extruder. I pushed the plastic covering on the wiring harness up as far as I could and the two wired from the fan extend on up with no connector.

Geof likes this.
  5. Geof

Geof Volunteer Moderator
    Staff Member

Was this a new printer ? Stock or e3d ? If used someone may have removed the connector

6. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

More specifically which model of printer is this? The beta and early R1 models did not have connectors.