1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Filament being chewed

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Duncan, Oct 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Duncan

Duncan New Member

Hi all, I'm new to 3D printing and the Robo 3D R1 (purchased Sept 2014) and have spent a good time on these forums reading and working through issues but currently am a bit stuck and am hoping this awesome community might have a few suggestions.

So the issue I am currently struggling with is the filament being chewed up and not feeding. It seems to work just fine prior to the print but during the print it just does not extrude. I have the newer R1 with the hexagon hotend, I have tried a few suggestions from the forums - seasoning the hotend, upgrading the hobbed bolt, adjusting the spring screws (not certain that is the official name), and adjusted the temperature. I have ordered the e3d v6 hotend but that is not due until next week.

I am using Repetier Host with mostly default settings, extruder is set to 205 degrees and I am printing with Hatchbox PLA as I could not get the Robo filament to work at all.

Please let me know if this is duplicate thread or posted in the wrong section.

Thanks in advance for the support.

Attached Files:

2. AxisLab

AxisLab Well-Known Member

Can you take a picture from directly above? From two of those pics it looks like the hobbed teeth may be too far to the right, but the angle could be throwing it off.
    That needs to be dead center of the filament inlet.

It may help to slow your infill down a bit too. The faster you run, the hotter you need to be to keep up, plus other factors as well. It's all about finding that sweet spot.

3. Duncan

Duncan New Member