1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Hard Bounds on Cura slicer settings

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by DavidR, Jan 17, 2018.

1. DavidR

DavidR Member

I am new to printing in general and am humbled by the enormous number of settings I can tweak. I was wondering what the extremes (i.e. the farthest I should take) the following settings (in Cura), specifically for the R2 printer:

Lowest print speed (when minimal layer time is set, will lower print speed appropriately unless it would require lowering below this speed) -

Maximum travel speed (mm/s) (for this one I would like what the avg value this should be set to as well. Cura recommends 150 but the Robo profile sets it at 100)

Maximum retraction distance (mm)

Max and Min retraction speed (mm/s)

Highest possible extruder temperature this device can safely be set to-

Highest possible bed temperature this device can safely be set to

2. WheresWaldo

WheresWaldo Volunteer ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)
    Staff Member

I will attempt to answer some of these

Max travel speed, I would leave at 100 mm/s, you will experience vibration artifacts if you use the firmware default values. You can play with faster speeds but the results will likely be less than optimal.

Maximum retraction should only be about 3 mm, but the key to retraction is you just want enough to not leave an artifact on the print. Too much and when you restart there won't be enough pressure to extrude. So less is more here.

Retaction speed is only limited by the amount of acceleration the stepper can stand without stuttering. The Robo default is basically the same as Marlin's firmware default.