1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Hotend Clog?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by JasonSolves, Oct 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JasonSolves

JasonSolves New Member

Got the printer last night, super excited. Went through all the steps. and got stuck on the manual feed through the hot end. Nothing would come out the hot end. yes I made sure it was hot (190C) and I tried some other things but it just seemed that nothing was going in, I would say that it was not going far enough down, but this is my first time. So with a good night sleep in I (with help) removed the two screws/bolts that hold the hot end in place. and then took out the hex screw from the top of that and took this picture
    [​IMG]

So, It looks like it is clogged.

I bought a PLA only model.
    I used the PLA that came with the printer and tested with PLA sourced else ware (both BLUE)
    190C
    I have NEVER printed anything.

let me know if you need any more info.
    and thanks again tesseract

2. JasonSolves

JasonSolves New Member

Also this is the side of that device (seems that the screw digs in to the top)
    it was VERY hard to remove the bolts
    [​IMG]

3. tesseract

tesseract Moderator
    Staff Member

that groove is completely normal Jason it is how it is locked into place yet allow for different hot ends to be used

4. JasonSolves

JasonSolves New Member

So I fixed it.

After taking it all apart and using an icepick to open the hole some
    [​IMG]

Then putting the hex bolt back in and then icepicking it again.

tested that the filament fits in the hole.

then I put it back and boom

[​IMG]

Now I am having some fun

3 people like this.
  5. AutopsyTurvy

AutopsyTurvy Active Member