1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Is this a problem?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by gravityisweak, Oct 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gravityisweak

gravityisweak Member

Hi everyone, In the first week of owning my printer, I had PLA leak upward and clog the hell out of everything. I was told this was because the hot end assembly wasn't tight.

I disassembled it to clean everything out and remove the clog. When I took it apart I saw deep gouges where the screws embedded into the metal. Now I'm new to this, so correct me if I'm wrong, but should this part be threaded like that? Or did someone install it incorrectly?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. mikej997

mikej997 New Member

Mine looks the same way. I think it is just how they are installed. I've had it apart several times and it prints fine.
    I also had an issue with extruder leaking. I made several attempts at fixing it - disassemble, clean, reassemble - and still had issues. Finally, I got everything cleaned up and reassembled and heated the extruder to normal temps with no filament. Once it was at normal temp (210 or so) I used the little wrench and a lot of caution and tightened the nut on the top of the heater block again. I found it was gaining some clearance with heat. Once I tightened it while hot, I've not had anymore leak issues.

3. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

That's perfectly normal. That's how the J-head is mounted in most greg's wade

4. gravityisweak

gravityisweak Member

Ok great, thanks! That's important to know.

5. collin

collin New Member

the scars of battle

6. gravityisweak

gravityisweak Member