1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Solved Lines/Fibers when printing anything using PLA

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by NaughtyGarfield, May 10, 2016.

1. NaughtyGarfield

Good Morning Guys and Gals,

My first Robo3D Printer and I am using original supplied PLA spool and everything I print either separates or has a lot of lines/fibers that goes from one spot to the next spot.

I have Robo3D R1+ Printer with Latest Firmware V2
    Software: MatterControl v1.5
    Quality: High
    Temperature Range 200C - 210C

Any idea or suggestions? Sorry I am fairly new at this, so I might need to learn a lot of terms you guys are about to throw at me. :D

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Probably a touch too hot.
    PLA and ABS tend to get stringy if you are printing too hot.

Drop it 5 degrees and try it.

Too low and you lose interlayer bonding, but too hot and you get strings and a 'melty'* look :)

You need to use small test models to dial in the best temperature for every spool you use.
    Keep them sealed with desiccant and it will not change much over time.

* you loose fine details

3. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

I use this for testing. I it is small (15 min print) but with lots of detail.

Lots of times people ask for best printing temperatures and that is a suckers game. :)
    Everyone is going to have a different best set of numbers to work with.

Attached Files:

#3 mark tomlinson, May 10, 2016
    Last edited: May 10, 2016
    NaughtyGarfield likes this.
  4. NaughtyGarfield

Hello Mark,

Thanks a lot. Let me start on the test file you sent me and see how that goes! :)

5. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

Good luck. I jot the numbers down on the spool since each one may have a slightly different sweet spot.

Geof likes this.
  6. NaughtyGarfield