1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

No Aux2 pins

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Clayton, Dec 19, 2015.

1. Clayton

Clayton Member

My Robo3dR1+ ramps board does not have aux2 pins or even a place to solder them in. I'm trying to add a filament sensor mod and it specifies aux 2 in the instructions. I have installed an RGB lighting mod which uses pins 4 5 and 6. Next to 6 is D11. The filament sensor mod requires a normally closed connection. I can of course modify the code to use this pin but I want to make sure there isnt something special about this pin that when shorted wouldnt fry something since it is labeled as "SERVOS" which makes me think it is sending power and if I short them then I would be in trouble. I'm pretty new to all of this so please excuse my ignorance.

jrs3d likes this.
  2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

I know they are using a slightly custom RAMPS in the new printers, but I would *hope* that all of the same pins and ports are available. However I have not looked at one to see exactly what changes there are (the photos I have seen there are some differences).

The differences are physical ones, not electrical ones so a standard RAMPS would still work and if the ports are still present they will as well. It looked like to me they are using one that does not have some of the 'unused' ports/pins exposed (saves space and probably construction costs in bulk).

3. Clayton

Clayton Member

Any idea about D11 (same on normal RAMPS and on mine. SERVOS) if I can use that instead? I'll attach a pic of my board if needed. I'm at work for the day so can't right now.

4. mark tomlinson

Staff Member

I have no clue what D11 is on the new/custom boards so a picture would help.
    Here is a connection pic for a normal RAMPS:

ramps1-4connectors.png

Also here is a schematic if that helps:

RAMPS1_4schematic.png