1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

On The Line

Discussion in 'United States of America' started by Frankn, Mar 5, 2015.

1. Frankn

Frankn Member

Frankn Old Member lol

Well, I am still on the fence as far as purchasing a 3D printer. The R1 looks good. I can handle the mechanical s and electronics, but I have no experience coding. I am reading up on the C coding of the board and Sketchup. Hay I use to do the old fashion drafting and then 32 years at Xerox as a field service engineer. I have some ideas for toys that I would like to prototype with the machine.
    Who knows, maybe I can come up with the next Hoola Hoop. lol Frank
    hoola-hoop.jpg

#1 Frankn, Mar 5, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2015
  2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

Not sure why you would need the coding experience to use the printer.
    Unless you need to modify the firmware you should never need to look at it.

Sketchup I can't speak to (we use Solidworks).

robert sanchez and Frankn like this.
  3. Frankn

Frankn Member

View attachment 6605
    Thanks Mark, all those brackets,commas and voids were starting to get to me.
    Well Sketchup looked easy to work with, I read the dummies book. Solid Works looked a bit up scale for my purpose but maybe I will graduate to it later on.
    The R1 mechanicals look basic compared to some of the Xerox equipment I have worked on. I think I have seen every type of mechanical drive, chains, cables, shafts, pulleys, gears, timing belts, air pressure, fluid pressure, even a harmonic drive, ( don't ask).
    We even used stepper motors to index the sorters. A lot of the terminology names have changed like sketch instead of program , and shield instead of daughter board etc.