1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unanswered print problems first layers are good

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by Robert J., Dec 28, 2015.

1. Robert J.

Robert J. Member

Ok i am new to the Robo3d and am having lots of problems with warping and what ever you would call this happening in the photo. Photo first layers (raft at least 2-3 layers in ) stick great and then that. This is ABS so i am printing at 95c and 235c. I have tried several different bed temps and almost every time this is the results. If i don't need supports my prints are getting better but if i need supports i need a raft for them to stick. if i print with out a raft and supports the end of my supports curl up makeing more problems. background i started off with a old makerbot printing abs great 110bed temps and kapton tap and had lots of success tell the boards fried. so i got a Robo 3d and hear i am please help.

Attached Files:

2. mark tomlinson

mark tomlinson ༼ つ ◕_ ◕ ༽つ
    Staff Member

The curling is part and parcel of ABS. That said you should be able to do better :)
    If you are using anything other than Simplify3D you are better off not using supports.
    Design your models to avoid them.

The fact that you need a raft implies that your first layer is not quite where it needs to be.
    This is an example of a correct first layer:

http://printedsolid.com/firstlayer

If yours does not look like that then you still have some adjustments to make.

Start with something simple. Attached is a single layer print (it only has the first layer) and use it for testing.

Print it and if the first layer is not correct adjust your Z offset a little bit (higher or lower) and then try again until you nail it.
    That is then the Z offset you need to always use.

Attached Files:

Geof likes this.
  3. Robert J.

Robert J. Member