1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

The new Hexagon Hotend

Discussion in 'Mods and Upgrades' started by Narnian, Sep 29, 2014.

1. Narnian

Narnian New Member

I have one of the earliest ROBO 3D Printers. I've been reselling Hexagon Hotends on Amazon for a few months now, and I had been planning to mount one on my ROBO but didn't have time until this weekend. I popped up to this forum to see how other people have done it and noticed that the ROBO 3D team is now shipping the ROBO with the same Hexagon Hotends I'm selling!

So, before I start bubble gum and scotch taping things into place, I'd like to see how the ROBO team decided to configure the carriage and fans for the Hexagon. I'm thinking that the ROBO team probably took some time to come up with the best possible configuration and have a more elegant mounting solution than I would have used. Does anyone have pics of the new setup? Did the ROBO team modify the carriage? Did they do something really simple like screwing the small fan on the side, or did they come up with a new fan mount? Are they using a fan shroud for the Hexagon? A picture would tell 857 words.

2. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

3. Narnian

Narnian New Member

That's way nicer than what I was going to do. I incorrectly assumed the fan and shroud would not fit under there. I'll download that file this evening and give it a shot this week. Thanks for the photo Mike, you're always a wealth of good info.

4. Narnian

Narnian New Member

Another related question. what do you connect the 25mm fan wire to? Do you splice it into the existing 40mm fan wiring, or is there another spot on the ramps board it should be connected to?

Speaking of the ramps board, where do I download hexagon compatible firmware? My firmware limits my hot end temp to 239 C.

5. Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Volunteer

They plug into the red/black highlighted posts:

[​IMG]