1. Got a question or need help troubleshooting? Post to the troubleshooting forum or Search the forums!

Unanswered 3D Printing Newbie

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by adepino, May 9, 2015.

1. adepino

adepino Member

Hey guys, I'm an Industrial Design student in Louisiana, i got my ROBO 3D R1 printer in today, and tried my first print with all default settings with the MatterControl software just to see how it would come out and it wasn't too pretty. Can anyone suggest generic settings to use with PLA? Like I've said I'm totally new at this, so any tips are greatly appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. David BOles

David BOles Member

Obviously doesn't look pretty but its kind of hard to tell what's wrong. Try a test cube to begin with. I'll send over the settings I use when I get home.

P.S. Congradulations on your printer! It takes a while and some patience, but these can be really food printers! We're here to help!

3. David BOles

David BOles Member

* good , sang auto correctly :)

Mooky likes this.
  4. adepino

adepino Member

Thanks! I'd really appreciate having somewhere to start, so that I at least know what WORKS, then I can go from there testing things out. It seems to bee leaving gaps between the passes, some gaps are rather large, and its doing this strange step-over thing to where it will be making a straight line, then it steps over to the next line to finish that pass. This is all on the initial starting passes for the base that sticks to the bed.

Ive drawn in RED on the first image so you can see the step-over and gaps I'm referring to. The second image shows where its leaving stray filament hanging over the edge...

Attached Files:

5. David BOles

David BOles Member